Without You

Without you I’d have never learned

The jealousy of lust 

The pain of longing

The jolt of worry

Without you I’d have never learned

The tragedy of miscommunication 

The agony of abuse

The chill of psychopathy 

Without you I’d have never learned

The resentment of addiction

The shatter of a heart as it breaks so completely 

Without you I’d have never learned

The resilience of my will

The strength of my soul

The power of my faith in what’s right

Without you’d I’d have never learned

The love behind the eyes of my children

The tingling in my spirit to carry on

Without you I’d have never learned

How to mindfully take the next step toward my future

That whatever shatters can be shaped into a better tomorrow

I take with me the dark and have brought it to light. You have no more power over me. With that I release you from those ropes I tethered you to, holding you close to my soul. A safety blanket of mistakes to dwell on, to hold me back from tomorrow. I wish for you the happiness you deserve. I wish for you the butterflies I once felt. 

I know my place, my time is now. Holding onto the past will only hinder me from letting my wings take flight. And fly I shall, onto find my corner of the sky.

Leave a Reply

