It’s THAT time of the year again!!!

The time of the year where people get so PC that anything and everything angers them. The time where everyone scrambles for extra money to but gifts for people that aren’t going to buy gifts for them.

image

Well, this is not a post about that, this is a post about something different.

This is about spirituality. No I won’t rant on about what’s best and what not, I just have a cute story.

Growing up, my parents had me in s yeshiva until I was in the 7th grade, so I was raised learning all and everything about being bullied and the Jewish religion and culture. During this time, we celebrated the commercialized version of the Christian holidays because my Father is a WASP. My Grammie taught me more than anyone else because is devout. So there you go, two huge religious cultures in my growing up processes. In the summers I went to a camp emerged totally in Jewish culture and those were the best days of my life (no joke…years later I went back to be a counselor there. A few years after the camp shut down for good. It still hurts my heart)

image

So my young life was 2 major religions, then I hit public school…other than being she’ll shocked, I learned about music and art and religion and cultures I never knew. My knowledge expanded as I went through HS, met some of my closest friends and became an adult. Though on my hospital records it still says Jewish. (If I die though I can’t be buried in s Jewish cemetery because I have tattoos.

image

So now I consider myself spiritual, I believe in the world, I love immersing myself in learning. I love religion and speaking to people. I believe in faeries, elements and energies. I believe in fate, miracles and destiny. I believe in culture and what religion was founded on.
I believe in my children knowing everything and making their own choices.

image

image

So with that…

Little man asked me the other night to say Grace before the meal. He Saud he knew we didn’t do it like Nanny did (who is Christian) but did I know how to do it.

I froze. Stared at him for a moment and then started laughing. The perplexed look of my families aside I said yes and that I would teach it to him.

Eventually I’ll do it on cam for you, so this is how it goes.

Hamotzi lechem mean ha aretz
We give thanks to God for bread
Our voices rise in song together
As our joyful prayer is said
Baruch ata Adonai
Elohaynu melech ha olam

Hamotzi lechem mean ha aretz

Ah aaaah men!

That’s how we did it at camp. It has a tune and so many amazing memories behind it. Now if I can only remember the prayer afterward.

image

My take on the world can be summed up in this quote – “When are you people going to learn? It’s not about who’s right or wrong. No denomination’s nailed it yet, because they’re all too self-righteous to realize that it doesn’t matter what you have faith in, just that you have faith. Your hearts are in the right place, but your brains gotta to wake up” – Serendipity

So there you have it. How do you feel?

So many sparkles
Shaye
Xoxo

image

Leave a Reply

